top of page

Darshan of Dharma: Day 7

Yoga means union or oneness with the self. It means the equanimity or balance that one experiences in life. It means the higher perspective of action which comes through detachment. The Yogi is the ideal ascetic who curbs one's passions and maintains calmness in all extreme situations, be it cold or heat, joy or sorrow, honour or dishonour. It is a realization where one is satisfied in oneself and experiences an absolute bliss.

Dharma is  yamas (restraints) and niyamas (observances). The five yamas apply in action, speech and mind. In explaining yama, Patanjali clarifies that certain professions and situations may require qualification in conduct. For example, a fisherman must injure a fish, but he must attempt to do this with least trauma to fish and the fisherman must try to injure no other creature as he fishes. The five niyamas (observances) are cleanliness by eating pure food and removing impure thoughts (such as arrogance or jealousy or pride), being content in one’s means, meditation and silent reflection regardless of circumstances one faces, study and pursuit of important knowledge, and devotion of all actions to the Supreme Teacher to achieve perfection of concentration.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page