top of page

Divinity Series: Day 2 - Brahmacharini

On Dwitiya, goddess Brahmacharini, another incarnation of Parvati, is worshipped. In this form, Parvati became Sati, her unmarried self. Brahmacharini is worshipped for emancipation or moksha and endowment of peace and prosperity. Depicted as walking bare feet and holding a japamala and kamandal in her hands, she symbolizes bliss and calm.

Brahmacharini depicts Jnana Shakti. In tranquillity is the power. Shakti ascents to the highest and becomes the bestower of knowledge. Even the Shiva, aligns himself to gain knowledge from Shakti. The basis of knowing, whether in super-sense or sense knowledge, is actual experience. Experience is of two kinds: the whole or full experience; and incomplete experience that is, of parts, not of, but in, the whole. In the first experience, conciousness is said to be ‘upward-looking’ (Unmukhī) that is, ‘not looking to another’. In the second experience it is ‘outward-looking’ (Vahirmukhī). The first is not an experience of the whole, but the experience-whole. The second is an experience not of parts of the whole, for the latter is partless, but of parts in the whole, and issuing from its infinite Power to know itself in and as the finite centres, as the many. The works of an Indian philosopher, my friend Professor Pramatha Nātha Mukhyopāhyāya, aptly call the first the Fact, and the second the Fact-section. The Īśa Upaniṣad calls the Supreme Experience—Pūrṇa, the Full or Whole.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page