Your Yoga: Day 1 - Ashtanga ~ Yama

The second chapter of the yoga sutras is considered the one most focused on “practice” of the yogic lifestyle and philosophy; details the eight limbs of yoga - known as Ashtanga Yoga - Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi.

The five Yamas (social ethics) and five Niyamas (personal observances) are two of these eight limbs. The Yamas primarily focus on our actions when in community with others, while the Niyamas focus more generally on our relationship with our physical and psychological selves

To acquire Yamas is a sense of self fulfillment... Ahimsa (non-violence), Asteya (non- stealing), Satya (non-falsity), Aparigraha (non-possession/non-avarice), Brahmacharya (chastity/ celibacy) are the yamas.

The sense of Self is to be established in the above five. Negation of violence, stealing, falsity, possession and carnal passion is to dispel darkness by light. To emerge stronger when the individual follows the Yama. Fear is overcome by renouncing violence, greed is overcome by non- stealing, sense of calmness emerges from speaking truth, freedom emerges from limited possession and celibacy is expression of the self without the other.

Practicing the Yama, I recover my own subjectivity, even as I give and surrender.

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Darshan of Dharma: Day 9

The Nyaya system engages a person’s logical sense by means of argumentation in a logical manner. This premise led Nyaya to concern itself with epistemology, that is, the reliable means to gain correct

Darshan of Dharma: Day 8

The Vedanta system uplifts the humans to exceed limits to experience either themselves as brahman as there are various interpretations of understanding the nature of reality. A human being is imperfec